music monday

authentic, monday, music, music monday, What I'm...

“What are you listening to right now?”

Music

I frequently ask people this question.  I get all kinds of responses.  And I love it. There is a lot that can be learned about peopleby the music they listen to. 

Frequently the music I choose is about the beat, the lyrics, or the sentiment expressed, and it can be as simple as what sounds good at that moment.

When I'm looking for a new artist or an addition for my meager collection, I usually ask those around me what they are listening to. Or I'll check into my favorite blog and find out what they are listening to. Rarely do I check out iTunes for the most popular stuff. I'd rather find a new artist through someone I care about.

I really enjoy the artists that are authentic to themselves and their art. Then the music becomes more than just sounds coming through the speakers, and more about the lyrics and sentiment expressed. 

It's impossible for me to tell you what my favorite artist or band is. There are so many that I thoroughly enjoy. And it depends on so many factors, it's nearly impossible for me to pick a favorite. A more accurate question is to ask what I'm listening to right now. 

And as I'm writing this entry? It's She & Him, A Very She & Him Christmas

The artists on rotation at the moment? Drake and Beyonce

So here's the question: what are you listening to today?

One thought on “music monday

  1. Oh… I totally love She & Him. But, did not realize that they had a Christmas album. I now know what my next purchase will be. 🙂 I've been listening to a lot of country music lately. Mostly Lady Antebellum. Not too sure why? Maybe it's because I went home to Atlanta for Thanksgiving. My southern side always comes out when I go back home. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! 🙂

Leave a Reply

